lagos nipr

Members of the Lagos chapter of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) elected Mrs. Comfort Nwankwo as the new chairman of the Chapter. Mrs. Nwankwo defeated Mrs. Eniola Mayowa and Mr Jide Benson in the election, which held at the 32nd Annual General Meeting of the chapter. Mr. Samuel Ayetutu defeated Mr. Oladapo Soneye to emerge the Vice Chairman.

In her acceptance speech, Mrs. Nwankwo thanked all those who voted for her and promised to deliver on all her campaign promises. She pledged to draw on her wealth of experience and knack for service in different areas of life to create the right visibility and partnership for the chapter. While extending an olive branch to other candidates that vied for the position of the chairman, she stressed the need for cooperation and synergy among the chapter’s members in order to maintain the flagship status of Lagos NIPR.

Other newly elected executive council members inaugurated by the President and Chairman of Council, NIPR, Mallam Muhktar Sirajo, to pilot the affairs of the chapter for the next two years, include Dr. Ahmadu Fatimah Binta, General Secretary; Mr Quadri Adeleke Adewale, Assistant Secretary; Mrs Modinat Tosin Olowoeshin, Treasurer; Mr Olumuyiwa Ojelabi, Internal Auditor; Mr Nyinongo Nicodemus Nyitar, Financial Secretary. Others are Mr Samuel O. Adeyemi, Public Relations Executive; Mr Bassey Ekpe Nta, Ex- Officio; Mr Adeola Ekundayo Harry, Ex-Officio; Mrs Oluwatoyin Adedoyin Adeseun-Nwosu, Ex-Officio.

Earlier at the strategic discourse held at the same venue, keynote speaker, Dr Jossy Nkwocha, Group Head, Corporate Communications and Special Adviser to the Managing Director, Indorama Nigeria, posited that truth is the only necessity in earning the trust of stakeholders in both public and private sectors and the antidote to communication failure. 

Leave a Reply