Home Appointment Ehiguese Heads Lagos NIPR training, education committees

Ehiguese Heads Lagos NIPR training, education committees

by Emmanuel Ogundele
0 comment

The Chief Executive Officer, Mediacraft and Associates Limited, John Ehiguese has been appointed chairman of the newly constituted training and education committee of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), Lagos state chapter.

The committee which was formally inaugurated during the January 2022 monthly meeting of the institute held at EKO FM Multipurpose Hall, Ikeja, Lagos has the mandate to propel growth and reposition the Institute for professionalism.

The appointment is in recognition of his leadership passion for and contributions to the advancement of quality education and training for communications professionals in the country.

Other members of the committee are: Eniola Mayowa as secretary, Peter Oguduro, Temitope Musowo, Ojo Stephen Tope, Thomas Anu Modupeoluwa, Efe Obiomah , O.T Oyekola, Dare Ogunyombo, and Olusegun Alabi.

 It is expected of the committee to develop and implement trainings and master class programmes for members’ professional development, assist in gathering facilitators at the Chapter’s monthly meetings and events, reach out to the PR students and academia for events, and provide inputs to the ongoing trainings and educational programmes of the institute.

Ehiguese’s appointment was conveyed in a formal letter dated 17 January 2022 and signed by the chairman, Lagos NIPR, 

Comfort Nwankwo.

“I am delighted to inform you that the Executive Council of the Lagos State Chapter has approved your appointment as the Chairman, Training and Education Committee of the Chapter,” Nwankwo said in the letter.

“In constituting your committee, the painstaking effort has been made to choose discerning, bright and

knowledgeable professionals of impeccable character, professional accomplishments having held long-

time leadership roles representing significant stakeholder groups.”

Nwankwo, who was elected last year to pilot the NIPR, Lagos Chapter, through its next growth phase,

had promised to work with proven professionals in the industry to ensure the Institute achieves its

growth objectives.

It is in line with that promise, that Nwankwo reached out to Mr Ehiguese, a thoroughbred PR professional, and others, to tap into their wealth of knowledge.

“By this appointment, we are confident that you will bring your deep knowledge and invaluable

experience to bear on this exciting assignment,” Nwankwo concluded.

Ehiguese expressed his appreciation for the appointment even as he promised to put in his best to help

strengthen the Institute’s training and master class programmes.

“I am deeply honoured to be appointed to head such a critical committee. I am confident that as a committee, we will put in our best to further strengthen the Institute’s training and education programmes,” Mr Ehiguese said.

Ehiguese, who founded Mediacraft, a leading PR firm in the country, over 18 years ago, has close to 30

years’ experience in public relations and communications. A consummate professional, Mr Ehiguese has

contributed immensely to the development of PR in Nigeria.

He was a one-time president of the Public Relations Consultant Association of Nigeria (PRCAN). He is on the Board of Management of International Communications Consultants Organization (ICCO) and has functioned in the ICCO as a judge for the body’s Global PR Award.

He remains a strong advocate of support by the government for local PR players through patronage and

partnerships. Last year, Mr Ehiguese instituted a training and mentorship programme for mass

communications undergraduates and prospective PR practitioners, as part of his contributions to the

growth of the industry.

In recognition of his invaluable contributions, Mr Ehiguese has won several industry awards, including

the Best Public Relations practitioner in 2019 and a Lifetime Achievement award at the 2021 Lagos PR

Industry Gala & Awards (LaPRIGA).

The NIPR Training and Education Committee has a total of 10 members 

You may also like

Leave a Comment