Home Appointment Karl Toriola,12 others confirmed Fellows of the NAE

Karl Toriola,12 others confirmed Fellows of the NAE

by Kikelomo Oyenuga
0 comment

Karl Toriola, CEO, MTN Nigeria, has been conferred the title of Fellow by the Nigerian Academy of Engineering (NAE), alongside 12 other distinguished engineers. The announcement was made by the NAE Council on March 7th, 2024.

Established in 1997, the NAE serves as a national hub for engineering and technology expertise, offering guidance through research and influencing developmental policies. Its Fellows are esteemed Nigerian engineering professionals, both locally and internationally recognized, who have excelled in various fields including business, academia and government.

Toriola holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electronic and Electrical Engineering from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, and a Master of Science degree in Communication Systems from the University of Wales, Swansea, UK. His career journey includes significant roles in prominent organizations within Nigeria before assuming leadership at MTN Nigeria in 2006 as Chief Technical Officer. He subsequently held CEO positions at MTN Congo Brazzaville and MTN Cameroun before serving as Vice President of MTN Group’s WECA (West and Central Africa) for five years, eventually being appointed CEO of MTN Nigeria in October 2020.

Expressing gratitude for the acknowledgment, Toriola said, “The Nigerian Academy of Engineering has played a pivotal role in shaping Nigeria’s engineering and technological landscape. Therefore, this recognition not only honours me but underscores a commitment to national service. It acknowledges the collective efforts of MTN Nigeria, under my leadership, alongside a talented team of engineers and other professionals, towards advancing digital and technological infrastructure in Nigeria.”

Among the notable engineers recognized alongside Toriola are Chiwuzie Victor Madunagu, Danshehu Bagudu Gwadangaji, Dosunmu Olufemi Olukayode, Ekwue Arthur Obiora, Ige David Oluseyi, Jibrin Umar Gambo, Makanjuola Bamidele Osuolale, Mallo Stephen Jackdell, Ogaji Stephen Ogajiye Tamuno-Ojuemi, Opaluwa Samson Ameh, Oyedele Ifeoluwa Olusola, and Zedomi Akintunde Sean.

You may also like

Leave a Comment